Skip to main content


The mission of the Australian Society of Orthodontist Foundation for Research and Education (ASOFRE) is to promote and advance research and education in orthodontics.

As a way of fostering the education of present and future orthodontic practitioners, the ASOFRE stages biennial Foundation Meetings between Congress years. The prestigious Donald Spring and Gerry Dickinson memorial lectures are presented at this Meeting. The Foundation also supports student meetings at these Foundation Meetings and at some Congresses.

The Foundation funds scientific and clinical research that explore methods for improved orthodontic care by supporting faculty members and postgraduate students.

The Foundation is administered by a committee appointed by the Federal Council of the ASO Inc. who are the Trustees of the Foundation. The Foundation has been given the status of a Health Promotion Charity, a tax-free organisation which means that donations to the Foundation are tax deductible.

2023 ASOFRE Committee

Dr Simon Toms (Member), Dr Derek Allan (Member), Dr Steven Naoum (Member), Dr Andrew Toms (Former President), Dr Chris Theodosi (Member), Dr Annu Nangia (Chair), Dr Robert Mayne (Secretary) and Dr Alex Yusupov (Treasurer)

ASOFRE Awards and Grants

Learn more about the ASOFRE supported Awards and Grants

Support the ASOFRE

Help advance research and education in orthodontics.

Award Winners

The ASOFRE recognises members whose achievements have made a significant contribution to orthodontics research and education.

Honour Roll

The ASOFRE sincerely thanks contributors for their support of the Foundation for the Future.

A brief History of ASOFRE

At the first Congress of the ASO held in Sydney in 1961, the Foundation for Research and Education (ASOFRE) was born. Initiated by a generous gift from ASO Founder, Dr Stanley Wilkinson members were invited to make donations to the Foundation. From this humble beginning, the capital base of the Foundation has slowly increased due to continuous generous donations from members, corporate supporters, and financial support from grateful patients. The interest and dividends earned from these funds are used to support orthodontic research and education.

Contact details



Dr Annu Nangia


[email protected]

Dr Rob Mayne


[email protected]

Dr Alex Yusupov


[email protected]

Dr Steven Naoum


[email protected]

Dr Simon Toms


[email protected]

Dr Derek Allan


[email protected]

Dr Chris Theodosi


[email protected]

Dr David Madsen


[email protected]