Keith Godfrey Visiting Professor Meeting 2019

The biennial Keith Godfrey Visiting Professor Meeting was held on Friday 8 November 2019 at the Intercontinental in Sydney.

This year we welcomed three guest speakers including Prof Nejat Erverdi as the Keith Godfrey Visiting Professor, A/Prof Axel Spahr (Periodontist) and Dr Sarah MacNeil (Doctor of Chiropractic). 

Prof. Nejat Erverdi graduated in 1981 from Hacettepe University Faculty of Dentistry in Ankara with the highest grade. He started his postgraduate education at the Department of Orthodontics of the same faculty and completed his PhD program in 1985. For the military service, Dr. Erverdi attended the Military Postgraduate Education Center in Istanbul and completed his military service as an educator. In 1987 he joined the Marmara University Faculty of Dentistry Department of Orthodontics as a lecturer. In 1988 he became Assistant Professor; in 1989 he passed the exam and became Associate Professor. In 1994 he became a full Professor. Prof. Erverdi is the head of the Department of Orthodontics between the years of 1988-2006. He is the author of over 100 articles in local and international journals. He published 10 international book chapters and a book about Archwise distraction osteogenesis and currently has four patents about bone anchorage plates and archwise distractors.

Due to a mishap with immigration, Prof. Erverdi was unable to attend the meeting in person. Thankfully technology has advanced to the point where he was able to present some very interesting content related to osteogenesis distraction and a surgical focus on orthodontic treatment from his private study in Turkey. 

As always it was a wonderful day for the alumni members to get together and share their own wisdoms and clinical experiences with their peers. We also took the opportunity to welcome the newest alumni members into the Sydney Orthodontic Alumni, including Dr Morgan Wishney, Dr Jessica Yeo, Dr Chelsea Mann, Dr Dipika Mistry. We would like to thank AB Orthodontics for sponsoring the drinks and canapés after the meeting and allowing for some casual socialising. 

A big thank you also to the Sydney Orthodontic Alumni for organising a fantastic meeting and for keeping it together despite some big hurdles in the path. Dr Divya Sriram will be staying on as president, Dr. Anél Blignaut will stay on as treasurer, and Dr. Jessica Yeo will be succeeding Dr. Jenkin Chiu as the new secretary. We would also like to acknowledge our honorary members Dr. Peter Synott, Dr. Allan Ward and Prof. Ali Darendeliler and thank them for their ongoing support with the Alumni committee.

Anél Blignaut